top of page

The ECBACC Pioneer and Lifetime Achievement Awards

By Museum of Uncut Funk, May 18, 2015

The ECBACC Pioneer / Lifetime Achievement Award was inaugurated in 2004 to honor those men and women, many unsung, who have made innovative, dynamic and lasting contributions to the cartoon, comic book & sci-fi industry and who have paved the way for others. This year’s Awards go to five recipients who are modern-day creative pioneers who have maintained a consistent presence in the industry for more than 2 decades.

The ECBACC Pioneer Recipients:

Dawud Anyabwile: Emmy Award winning artist and the co-creator and illustrator of the comic book Brotherman: Dictator of Discipline published in 1990. This pioneering graphic illustrator has influenced a generation of artists and writers while selling more than 750,000 copies without the help of a major publisher or distributor. Brotherman has received international exposure and acclaim in both print and television media. Anyabwile has also worked as a character designer for two of Nickelodeon’s highest rated shows, “The Wild Thornberrys” and “The Rugrats.” In 2013 Anyabwile and his brother Guy A. Sims brought back the popular “Drawing from the Soul” art exhibit to the Auburn Avenue Research Library in Atlanta, GA. The “Drawing from the Soul” art exhibit features illustrations and art from the pioneering comic book Brotherman, the series that introduced one of the most authentic and enduring Black heroes ever created.


bottom of page